Food & language

img_3004
There is a word we ALL now use for unwanted emails, messages and postings on our social media. SPAM!

I think I used to enjoy eating it as a kid, but then that was the 1960s and early 70s when you didn’t get much of a choice what you got served to eat. I kind of remember spam fritters with some fondness.

I was quite surprised to see it on the shelf of the supermarket I use here in Monterrey – there’s even a spicy version “a la mexicana” now. Having tried it, and the original, after so many years I was really disappointed. It was awful. I didn’t realise just how bad the stuff is as well as being incredibly greasy.

So. Why don’t we like Spam? Here’s the reason.

Leave a Reply

